Frank Delos Tyrrell. Somewhere in Luxembourg. 1 Nov 44

Somewhere in Luxembourg  1 Nov 44

Dear Sis, Geo and Kids:

I have a Nazi flag all packed ready for mailing if I ever get the chance. It is rather large but only made out of cotton. I have been on the look out for a large silk one.

It looks like this damn thing might drag out for some time. I understand that the people back home had the war won when we were tearing across France. I don’t see how they can be so damn foolish. This is a dirty rotten mess. I hope to hell Tommy never gets a look at anything like it.

To keep our mind off from fighting we raise a lot of hell when he have the chance. I guess the best way to describe it would be to say we do everything that would be prohibited in the States. I have drank more champagne than I ever saw in America. I got a little hot one day a couple of months ago and cleaned up around $1400.00. What a time for a couple of weeks until I counted up and only had around $1000.00 left so I started sending some home to Midge. I sent her around $700.00 and keep enough for a couple of parties.

I am going to look for another game one of these nights and see what happens. Don’t mention this to Midge as she still is in the dark about where the extra dough comes from.

We are entitled to wear three battle stars on our campaign ribbon, and I have been given the bronze star. Not much an award, about as low as they come, but it brings back memories of a hole I will never be in again if I can help it. I don’t mind seeing the bastards killed, but I would sooner have it at a little longer range.

Good night for now.

Terry

This entry was posted in 1940s, South Dakota, Tyrrell, World War II and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

