Waiting for information

Sending off requests for information to libraries can be a time and money-saving way to do genealogy research. The first time I was surprised by how quickly the information came back. This time I am waiting, waiting, waiting…
I know the request was received as my check was cashed. I hope the wait is worth it with some positive information about James S Perry in Girard, Kansas.

While I wait I do searches on google. This week I found out more on Thomas Nelings Swale, who worked as a lawyer in Washington state. It turns out he was active in the American Legion and with anti-Japanese committees in the early 20th century. I am finding many publications he has co-authored and tracts he supported. After visiting the Japanese-American Museum in San Jose, reading these publications are fascinating.
I suppose there will be more racists in the family tree. And while Thomas Swale is a product of the times, he certainly was vociferous in his point of view.
One such document can be found here Oriental Question

This entry was posted in 1890s, Black sheep, Nelings/Neilings/Neelings, Washington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

