Helmbolt thoughts

The previous post on the Thomas and Eugene (Keith) Helmbolt left out what I think is most interesting–their lives after Canada. They seemed to settle into a quiet marriage, working in California and making trips back to see her family in Idaho. Newspapers from Payette report that Eugene Helmbolt won bridge games with friends and family. 

From such a tumultuous start of their married life, including a chaotic wedding ceremony, they seemed to live the rest of their lives in harmony, dying in Idaho.

This entry was posted in 1910s, Perry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Helmbolt thoughts

  1. Chelsea Pemberton says:

    Thomas and Eugene are my great, great, great uncle and aunt! My engagement ring actually was passed down from Eugene to my grandmother to my mother and then to me. I am working on my own genealogical research and wondered if you might shed a little extra light on their “chaotic wedding ceremony.” I have found marriage records, but not any particular account of their wedding or anything leading up to it. If you don’t mind sharing, I would be extremely grateful!

    Thanks so much,
    Chelsea

    • Lisa Perry says:

      Chelsea–how cool that you have Eugene’s ring! What I found about the wedding was from the Twin Falls newspaper. I will post the pdf of the newspaper in a new post.

Leave a Reply

